• Cutting-edge tech reveals China’s false claims regarding concentration camps in East Turkistan

    January 23, 2020 An investigation by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution based in the UK, found that China has expanded activities in many large concentration camps across East Turkistan. Working with data and analysis provided by the East Turkistan National Awakening Movement (ETNAM), Adrian

  • East Turkistan Exile Government condemns Myanmar for calling East Turkistan ‘inalienable part of China’

    Washington, January 22, 2020 The East Turkistan Government-in-Exile (ETGE)’s Foreign Ministry on Tuesday pushed back against a joint statement made between Beijing and Myanmar that said East Turkistan (what China calls “Xinjiang”) was undisputedly part of China’s territory. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) of the East Turkistan Government-in-Exile resolutely

  • Why are Uyghurs Protesting the World Bank?

    Bill Martinez spoke to Salih Hudayar, the Prime Minister of the East Turkistan Government-in-Exile, about the World Bank’s $50 Million Dollar Loan to China’s Concentration Camps. LISTEN below to find out why Uyghurs are protesting the World Bank.

Welcome to the East Turkistan Government in Exile

The East Turkistan Government in Exile (ETGE) seeks to restore East Turkistan’s independence as a democratic, secular, pluralistic, Republic that guarantees human rights and freedom for all.

With a history of over 6000 years, the Uyghurs are an ethnically Turkic people living mostly in East Turkistan and Central Asia. The Uyghurs are predominantly  secular Muslims practicing a moderate form of Islam. There are an estimated 30 million Uyghurs living in East Turkistan and abroad, though Chinese sources put the number around 12 million.

East Turkistan, located in the  very center of Asia, is the historical Homeland of the Uyghurs and other Turkic Central Asian peoples. East Turkistan has effectively been occupied by China since December 22, 1949. East Turkistan neighbors nine countries – Mongolia (including South Mongolia), Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Tibet and China.

Under decades of Chinese occupation and colonization, East Turkistan and its people are under severe threat of being eradicated as China’s government continues to deliberately carry out genocidal policies designed to eradicate East Turkistan and its peoples. Today over 3 million Uyghurs, Kazakhs, and other Turkic peoples are being held in concentration camps.

Key Issues